Thumb Twiddlers – Playstation Plus Monthly Games

Thumb Twiddlers - Playstation Plus Monthly Games 1

I seem to have the worst luck when it comes to online gaming. After the PS2 I moved to the Xbox, and then later the Xbox 360. So throughout my online console gaming history I have had to pay for the privilege. So when I heard that the PS4 was due to be released I was excited. I had lost love with Xbox when reading up on the Xbox One and was thrilled at the idea of playing online for free. After all, the PS3 was free, so why would it be any different. Of course I found out this was not the case, but I stuck with it and got the PS4 anyway.

Little did I know that I was in for a little bit of a treat with PlayStation Plus. After I had begrudgingly paid for it, muttering to myself about how ridiculous it is that I had bought the console but yet again had to pay for the right to use a big chunk of it, when I noticed something interesting; Monthly Games.

Now for those of you that don’t know, Sony basically have made up for the fact that fans were outraged that suddenly they had to pay to play online by offering free, yes you heard me right, free games every month. Now what I love about this is that most people that have never seen the monthly games would assume, like I did, that the monthly games would all be cheap, boring, undesirable games that Sony just chuck your way as a pathetic peace offering. But those people couldn’t be more wrong.

Thumb Twiddlers - Playstation Plus Monthly Games 2

Yes, there are sometimes games that not many people are interested in, but more often than not there are big games that you would normally have to empty your wallet for. Take this month for example. This month there are 3 games available on the UK PlayStation store; Gone Home, Little Deviants, and NBA 2K16. Now correct me if I’m wrong, but one of these stands out a bit. I’m no sports games enthusiast, but when I see a game that should be costing me £40-50 normal retail price being given to me for free you’d better believe I’m gonna get it!

In fact, a huge percentage of the games I currently own were from the monthly games. So far I have been given for free:

Not a bad list to be honest, and that’s not even including the ones that even though they were free, I just couldn’t be bothered with (although that’s not many!).

Now I know PC Gamers will be all over this saying stuff along the lines of “get a PC and you can play everything for free” and “lol console peasant”. But here’s the thing, my point isn’t that Sony have conquered the gaming world, or that they are the greatest on Earth for doing this. But you have to acknowledge something pretty damn good when you see it. This is definitely a step in the right direction for consoles and its something I hope won’t ever go away, because it really does make me happy every month to see these new games that I get to play for free… as long as I stay subscribed.

Yes I can’t ignore that part. In order to keep playing these games I need to stay a subscribed member of Playstation plus. But to be honest, I think that’s fair. I really do hope that this action of giving away free games to clients continues… now if only they could make online free too… a man can dream…


Leave a Reply

